The 1971 SF Giants and Topps Cards

The 1971 SF Giants were predominately a power hitting ball club with pretty good speed. Not one batter on the 1971 Giants hit .300, and in fact the player that came the closest was Bobby Bonds who hit .288. However, of the 8 regular starters 5 would hit 15 or more HR’s. And all but 1 starter would have 50 or more RBI’s (the starter that didn’t was rookie SS Chris Speier). 1971 would be Willie Mays‘ last year playing full-time (Willie would be traded to the NY Mets in 1972 and retire after the 1973 season). In 1971 Mays lead the NL in OBP and would walk 112 times. Willie also stole 23 bases (he was 40 years old). Bobby Bonds would lead the Giants in hits, runs, HR’s, RBI’s and stolen bases. Bonds was one of the first power and speed lead-off hitters in MLB. Bobby was also the first player to steal at least 30 bases AND hit at least 30 HR’s in one season. Although he did not achieve that feat in 1971 he did do it 5 other seasons, including his 2nd year in MLB during the 1969 season!. Bobby’s son Barry would also achieve this feat. Juan Marichal and Gaylord Perry were the nucleus of the Giants pitching staff in 1971. Between them they pitched over 550 innings. However, the SF Giants had a number of other pitchers on their staff that played key roles in the 1971 campaign. More about the 1971 SF Giants pitching staff later. Suffice it to say that in 1971 the SF Giants could be characterized as a power hitting ball club with good speed and a very good pitching staff.

1971 must have been the year that Ken Henderson locked down the left field position for the Giants as I remember seeing (and hearing) Kenny a lot that year, running for balls hit down the left field foul line where we sat for most Giants games at Candlestick Park. There is nothing like the sound of a professional baseball player running hard and grunting as he attempts to make a catch near the seats (it’s actually a rather startling sound). To me as a kid Kenny looked like a giant…and I mean giant as in huge 🙂 I also remember that behind the left field fence in Candlestick Park there was a small grassy area. When someone hit a HR over the fence, people would jump from the stands down to the grass to grab the ball. There was usually an ensuing struggle or fight for the loose ball as people piled onto each other, and I remember thinking to myself that I’d probably get clobbered out there if I ever jumped down to try to get one of those HR balls. I can still hear the sound of Ken Henderson crashing into that left field fence trying to make a jumping catch (sometimes successfully!). And I remember waving to Kenny from my seat as he took his position in left field each inning. Funny, I don’t remember him waving back 🙂 One night my family was sitting leisurely in our seats drinking hot chocolate when all of a sudden everyone jumped up and I heard a loud “thunk” sound behind me as people pushed and leaned over our seats. An older woman behind me was hit in the head with a foul ball. She had blood streaming down the side of her face and half the people around her were trying to help her while the other half were trying to find the foul ball. That was a difficult moment for me. I was sad and scared for the injured old lady and that is when I first realized the savagery of “the game”. I wonder whatever became of that old women? Strange…but I can still remember seeing her peanut bag sprawled on the ground behind my seat as she was whisked away by the Candlestick Park game attendants. That is also when I learned to keep my eye on every play of the game, my baseball glove at the ready. I never did catch a foul ball at a MLB game, but like most people, I came close 🙂

One of my favorite cards in the 1971 Topps baseball set is the card of Nolan Ryan. And not because of Ryan’s HOF feats. The card is a great action shot of Ryan pitching in a Mets uniform with his leg kicked, his glove out-stretched, his right hand behind him completely blocked from view as he looks like he is just about to uncork one of his famous fast balls! Behind Nolan in the background is a hugh sign for Royal Crown Cola the official sponsor of the NY Mets during the 1960’s-1980’s. Thus, this action shot of Ryan was probably shot in Shea Stadium during the 1970 season (he sure looks young). In fact, I have read where most of the 1971 Topps action shots were taken either in Shea Staduim or Yankee stadium. The RC Cola sign in the background really adds a nice touch of nostalgia to the card. Anyway, the 1971 Topps Nolan Ryan card is one of the best Topps actions pictures ever taken, IMO. And the 1971 Topps Thurman Munson card isn’t too bad either 🙂 In one of my next posts I’ll talk a little bit about the 1971 Topps baseball card design.

Leave a comment